15

March, 2021

CD-Project
la stella ed io 1

A few words about ‘La Stella ed io‘

I had now arrived in Italy with my long-term project ‘The musical surveying of Europe by a native’. I decided to use mostly poems from the Renaissance, especially those by women who are hardly noticed to this day, but whose artistic value is beyond question.

In order to make the interpretation of my compositons as graceful as possible, I tailored it entirely to the artistic talent of the Armenian-Georgian opera singer Stella Grigorian. Grigorian, a jewel, provides this recording with her wonderfully unique voice, as it were to complete the sound image.

My music makes demands to the one who wishes to enter it. It requires time, mindfulness and calm, that is, all the qualities of orgiastic silence in the guise of wholly comprehendible forms with the purpose of attaining a longed-for rendezvous with the horizon. If the power of my music has helped achieve this, then so it shall progress. That is it‘s nature.

The curious guest, however, who had followed the chants up to here, should now be at home in a former foreign place.

Alfred Polansky, 2021

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

15

März, 2021

CD-Project
la stella ed io 1

Ein paar Worte zu ‚La Stella ed io‘

Mit meinem Langzeitprojekt ‚Die musikalische Vermessung von Europa durch einen Eingeborenen‘ bin ich nun in Italien angekommen. Ich entschied mich, Großteils Gedichte aus der Renaissance zu verwenden, speziell jene von Frauen, die bis heute kaum wahrgenommen werden, deren künstlerischer Wert jedoch außer Frage steht.

Die nuancenreiche Vielschichtigkeit meiner Kompositionen zu interpretieren legte ich ganz in die Hände der armenisch-georgischen Opernsängerin Stella Grigorian. Sie, ein Juwel, stellt dieser Einspielung, sozusagen als Vollendung des Klangbildes, ihre wunderbar einmalige Stimme zur Verfügung.

Meine Kunst fordert den, der sie betreten will. Sie verlangt Zeit, Achtsamkeit und Stille, also all die Qualitäten orgiastischen Schweigens im Gewand durchaus verstehbarer Formen, um zum ersehnten Rendezvous mit dem Horizont zu kommen. Hat meine poetische Kraft dabei geholfen, zieht sie weiter. Das ist ihre Natur. Der wissbegierige Gast aber, der den Gesängen bis hierher gefolgt war, sollte nun heimisch sein in einstiger Fremde.

Alfred Polansky, 2021

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This